You’re Interested, They’re… Not

As previously discussed, I have decided to throw myself into online dating. I made this decision after much discussion with a few people pretty much all my friends (but not my mother, surprisingly… more on that later) and after hearing for what felt like the 100th time that “so-and-so met online and are so perfect for each other!”

So, here we go. I’m winking, I’m liking, I’m messaging. I’m doing all of it. As one good friend said to me, “If you are going to do this, you need to DO THIS”. And now, a month in, I take a look at my personal statistics and I. Am. Flabbergasted.

Image

Yup, you read that correctly. I have indicated interest in a whopping eighty-six men (which is astonishing in and of itself). I’ve even said maybe to seventeen.

The number of men who have indicated interest in me? ZERO.

If this has not turned out to be the worst idea ever, I don’t know what is. Not one? Not one man thought “Oh, she seems cool… I’ll give her a yes”.  People keep asking me if I’ve gone on any dates yet and I don’t have the heart to tell them I can’t even get someone to respond, never mind actually be seen in public with me.

So much for the alleged confidence boost that comes from online dating – one of the many selling points used to convince me of embarking on this wretched endeavor. I feel worse than when I started. Not only are the men I know not interested in me, the rest of the men in this buzzing metropolis aren’t either.

Further proof I have an invisible hand growing out of my forehead that smacks quality men away. It seemingly gives a ‘come hither’ motion to douche bags, though. So I’ve got that going for me.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “You’re Interested, They’re… Not

  1. Grace says:

    Crap! How crazy is that? Ok, so honest question here…is your profile pic a good one? I mean, ask your friends (guy friends esp) what they think of the picture. Guys are quick to flip from one profile to the next – only looking at the initial profile picture. Make sure yours is the best one of you.

    • It IS a good one, Grace – both male and female friend approved! I have also received glowing reviews – from both sexes – on the wittiness of my profile.

      My failure remains a mystery to all of us.

  2. […] has been somewhat helpful in my recent foray into online dating, has provided some helpful profile tips and photo options (although the “you need to show […]

  3. […] you are all aware, I have been trying my skills (are they even skills? I’m not sure…) at online dating. Thus far, almost three months in, it has proven to be a literal fruitless endeavor – not a […]

Leave a comment